Beaver Scouts are young people usually aged between six and eight years old. They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scouting family. Young people can join Beaver Scouts in the three months leading up to their sixth birthday. They can move to the next Section, Cub Scouts, between eight and eight years six months.

Easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts, Beaver Scouts enjoy making friends, playing games, making craft, singing, going on visits, helping others and plenty of outdoor activities. 

We have two beavers colonies (Logs & Dams), and we meet once a week (on a wednesday) in our Beaver Scout Colony, located at left side hall of the Church, in Avenue, West Wickham, BR4 0DX. 

We also have the opportunity to take part in the fun and excitement of camps and sleepovers. It may be the first time they spend a night away from home so it’s a real adventure for them.

The Beaver motto is Fun and Friendship and our program reflects this.


Beaver Scouts can gain a number of awards and badges, They start with the Membership Award which is given to Beavers after they have made their promise and been invested into the Scout Movement

The Moving-On Award is the last award given once a Beaver Scout has completed their time in Beavers and moved into Cub Scouts.

Below are some of the different awards that Beavers can work towards:

Activity Badges

There are a number of Activity Badges which can be awarded to Beaver Scouts. These are Adventure, Air Activities, Animal Friend, Creative, Experiment, Explore, Faith, Health & Fitness, Healthy Eating, Hobbies, Imagination and Safety. Some of the badges are covered during Colony meetings and activities, though there are some that require some individual work to be done - this maybe because they are related to hobby or something that the young person does outside of Scouting.

Staged Activity Badges

Beavers also work towards gaining Staged Activity Badges. They are completed in different stages, so after completing each stage Members are awarded the relevant badge. Some badges have different stages, for example, nights away are awarded after one, five and ten nights away (and more!). Stages badges are continued as young people move throughout the sections of Scouting.

Challenge Awards

Challenge Awards are completed together as a Colony rather than individually and should be completed within a Colony's normal activities. There are different challenges including Promise, Creative, Fitness, Friendship, Global and Outdoor. A young person can if they wish complete a challenge award more than once though they should show greater skill and development than from when they first completed it.

Chief Scout's Bronze Award

The Chief Scout's Bronze Award is the highest award which can be gained by Beaver Scouts. In order to attain it, Beaver Scouts must have completed six Challenge Awards by the time they join Cub Scouts. They can, if necessary complete this in the early stages of being in the Cub section.

Latest photos